Geocaching…

geocaching

Well! I’m proud to say that I’ve just added another first to my list – geocaching! When I got up this morning I had absolutely no idea that I’d be spending the day being guided by GPS around several large fields, looking for small objects hidden in and around trees, in pipes, under rocks and logs and all manner of other places. Walking around woodland meant we saw lots of fabulous wildlife, including ladybirds, a giant bee and lots of different birds. We squelched our way along muddy footpaths, looked in nooks and crannies and stuck our hands into nettles and brambles on the hunt for the next cache. The weather was extremely kind to us and the sun was out for most of the day, which made a big difference.

After accomplishing a 100% success rate of finding all 13 objects, a nice sit down with a hot cappuccino, overlooking a stunning lake, late afternoon with hazy sunshine, was just the ticket. You really can’t beat a bit of fresh air, a decent walk and a good old natter with a friend, and it’s even better if you can combine it with a new and interesting hobby. I’m very grateful that I can spend quality time with such wonderful mates and I’m really looking forward to the next adventure.

Leave a Reply

