Let Them Eat Cake…

valerie patisserie

It’d been all work and no play for me in recent weeks, so when a good friend invited me for afternoon tea I jumped at the opportunity to mix gossip with cakes. The weather was mild, despite it being a Bank Holiday weekend, so we made the most of it by sitting in her back garden on her lovely, comfy swing seat. There were three of us girlies, with my friend’s hubby dutifully acting as head chef and waiter.

Surrounded by floral delights we were presented with a dainty and delicious sandwich selection, accompanied by hot drinks. No sooner had we scoffed those, when the cake stand arrived, and oh my word! I’ve passed Patisserie Valerie in town several times and drooled at their fabulous creations, but never imagined in my wildest dreams that I’d be offered such silky rich mouthfuls of chocolate heaven to savour. By now, the elastic in my trousers was at it’s limit, and I was certain I couldn’t eat another thing, when out came the freshly backed scones – still hot!

Greed is not a virtue, but it would’ve been rude to say no and so I scooped a spoonful of thick, clotted cream onto my freshly cut scone, then topped it off with top quality fruit jam. Good job we ended up chatting for the next four hours because I was far too full to move. I have a sneaking suspicion I won’t want any tea tonight, or any breakfast, or even dinner, tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

