Size Does Matter…!

fab

Just over two and a half years ago I was a size 22 and weighed 13 stones! After cutting out all the junk food, using a smaller plate and doing lots of walking I’m now a very happy and healthy size 12-14. However, despite my achievement, the NHS, (my cardiologist in particular), doesn’t share my joy and it’s all because of numbers.

Due to my height (lack of) the fact that I actually weigh 12 stones, (despite looking and feeling ‘normal’), my BMI is 30 which puts me in the ‘obese’ category! All the various weight-to-height charts suggest I should weigh 9 stones, which would technically leave me having to lose another three stones… despite the fact I’m already down to a size 12-14!!!!

Luckily, I have the common sense to be proud of what I’ve achieved, but others in a similar position might feel disheartened. This has two potential outcomes; either they’ll give up, return to an unhealthy diet and regain all the weight they lost, or they’ll develop an eating disorder.

While I realise that many people do need to lose weight in order to ease pressure on joints and bones, common sense needs to prevail, and once you are at the stage when you’re finally comfortable in your own skin then throw away the scales, stop the weekly weigh-ins, and just enjoy being fabulous!

3 thoughts on “Size Does Matter…!

Leave a Reply

